Oops…I’m Blonde!

Yes, I’m back! It’s been about a month and a half since I last posted, but nonetheless, I’m back with a great post today and other great ones to follow.

I know the title of this blog is “Oops…I’m blonde,” but I really want to focus on coloring your hair and maintaining your newly colored hair…and of course how to deal with it if the color you want isn’t the color you get.

First Things First.

Coloring and Maintaining Your Hair!

A lot of naturals color their hair as part of the way that they express themselves, much like being natural itself is a manner of expressing yourself. There’s nothing wrong with coloring your hair, but it is important to know that permanent hair dye IS a chemical that can affect the texture of your hair, strip the moisture from your hair and even manipulate your natural curls.

If you decide to let your beautician or stylist color your hair, then they should already know the proper techniques to color and maintain your hair. If you have decide to color your hair at home like I always do then there’s a few things that you should know..if you’re not a professional.

1. It’s always necessary to prep your hair ann your skin before applying any color. Do not comb, brush, wash, condition or grease your scalp before coloring. Doing these things will irritate your scalp and possibly cause chemical burns and rashes. Prep your skin by applying a thick grease like Vaseline, or a petroleum jelly based grease to your ENTIRE hairline (front, sides and neck), and your ears. This simple technique will keep you from dying your skin which also causes irritation and possibly rashes.

2. Follow the steps on the box, as best as possible, when it comes to mixing the color and the developer.

3. Asuming that you have dyes your own hair before, you would know which areas of your hair turn faster (I.e. the nape, around the forehead or ears and the middle). If not, start from the back and work your way to the front of your head. Use a mirror if necessary to make sure that you have not missed any hair. Pay special attention to your roots:).

4. Once you have applied the color To Your Roots you basically wait until it reaches the color that you want. Usually more than 30 minutes with the chemical in your hair is not good. A simple technique to help the color develop faster is tying a plastic bag around your head, or using an aluminum shower cap/conditioning cap. Make sure to keep an eye on your color and the time.

5. When you have the desired color, rinse your hair in cold water until the water runs clear. This means that all the chemical is out. Typically after coloring my hair I don’t use shampoo because the chemical has already stripped moisture from my hair, and the shampoo is only going to do the same. I take my basic detangling conditioner and condition my hair, root to tip. Then I add a mixture of olive oil and coconut oil to my hair, from root to tip, and I let it sit for about 5 to 10 minutes. I rinse the oil combination out and condition with my regular conditioner. Always tried to follow up on a coloring with a  deep conditioning treatment, not a protein treatment. The deep conditioning treatment will help restore moisture and the pH balance of your hair. It will also give your newly colored hair a nice shine and soften it up. I normally leave my deep conditioning treatment in from anywhere between 30 minutes to 24 hours. That’s your preference of course.

6. After you’ve rinsed out the deep conditioning treatment, you should notice that your hair is shiny, soft, vibrant and that your curls are bouncy and defined. While your hair is wet it is imperative that you follow your moisturizing and hydrating routine to a T so that your hair does not dry out from being colored. Oftentimes colored hair needs more moisturizing and hydrating then it would without color. I personally up my moisturizing routine so that my hair maintains its color as well as its health. I mix leave-in conditioners with light, but moisturizing oils and apply it to my hair every other day. It is also imperative that you pay attention to your ends as those are the oldest parts of your hair. Clip them if necessary, and seal them with your chosen sealing oil(s). Maintaining Healthy Hair: It’s Just A Trim

My hair color didn’t turn out the color I wanted it.

I recently colored my hair. I was going for a lighter brown than what I had and by the end of the coloring process I was a bright honey golden blonde. Initially, I was extremely shocked and ready to head to the beauty supply store to buy 3 additional boxes of brown so that I could correct the color.

IMG-20160825-WA0031.jpeg
The color mixtures I used. Softesheen-Carson Dark and Lovely Number 370 and 384

Of course it is not recommended to recolor your hair immediately after coloring it. I knew that, but my only concern at the moment was “I can’t go to work like this” and “I’m too dark for this color.” After being calmed down, I decided that I would not reclor my hair and risk damaging it. Lo and behold, 3 days later I was adjusting to the color. Three weeks later, I am LOVING and IN LOVE WITH the color.

img_20160902_121104

In the event that you don’t love your oops color as much as I love mine, the recommended wait time between coloring and recoloring your hair is a minimum of 2 weeks. Meanwhile, you should definitely moisturize and hydrate your hair as much as possible so that it can maintain its health before you recolor it.

Suerte,

#LaGordita

 

Leave a Reply

