DIY: High Porosity Hair Hair Butter

In case I never mentioned it in a previous post, I’ll mention it now. I have high porosity hair, which means that my hair absorbs moisture well, BUT doesn’t hold it in (it gets dry pretty quickly).

A few months ago, I did a little research on what high porosity hair needs in order to maintain its moisture, its softness. Of course, there were a million and one products and product reviews on YouTube, but I decided to try my hand at being a DIYer.

Below is a recipe for a Hair Butter that I made. It works wonnnnderfully for my hair. My hair maintains its moisture, is frizz free and defines my curls!

I’ll list the amounts of each product that I used. It made about 4 oz. Of course, the amounts vary by the amount that you want to make.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of African Shea  Butter
  • 1/2 cup of Cantu Leave-In Conditioner
  • 25 drops of Shea Moisture Flaxseed Oil
  • 1 spoon of 100% Pure Coconut Oil (Melt)
  • 2 to 3 teaspoons of Jamaican Black Castor Oil

Mix all of the ingredients together until the texture is whipped. If you think it needs more oil(s) or leave-in conditioner, add them. 

diy.png
Yes…it doesn’t look appealing, BUT it works!

Application:

  • Wet hair
  • Divide into sections
  • Detangle 
  • Apply hair butter as necessary 
  • Comb from root to end
  • Twist
  • Reapply hair butter OR oil used in hair butter mixture to ends 

This Hair Butter works well on dry hair, but I usually wet my hair first to ensure that the oils get into my hair follicles, and not sit on my hair follicles.

**Use oils that you know your hair reacts well too. Oils such as tea tree and lavender will make the mixture smell good, and also help with root stimulation that promotes hair growth, decrease hair loss and dry scalp and fight dandruff.**

 

#LaGorditaChronicles

Leave a Reply

