Wash Day and Product Review

Yesterday was the dreaded by some, loved by others–WASH DAY! I typically do wash day once every 2 weeks. If I use more product during the week than usual, I’ll wash that week as well.

As I wrote in a previous post, I shampoo once a month to remove the product buildup from the month. As you all know, shampoo strips that hair of its vital nutrients, and can often leave the hair feeling dry and brittle. On wash days, I condition and deep condition really well to make sure that my hair and scalp are product free. If I shampoo my hair, I make sure to put a hydrating and moisturizing oil on my hair, or mix it with my conditioner. I can tell if my hair is clean by how my curls bounce back to their natural curl.

I have high porosity hair, which means my hair accepts moisture well, but doesn’t hold on to it. I always always make sure to moisturize with a leave in conditioner and twist and seal my roots and ends with a thick butter or oil. If after 2 days my hair still feels moisturized and has a nice shine, I know that I did a good LOC Method on wash day.

What’s the LOC Method? 

The LOC Method is a way to remember how to moisturize you hair, and seal in the moisture.

Liquid (Water-Based Leave-In Conditioner)

Oil (Butter or Oil)

Cream (Styling Gel or Cream)

loc.jpg

Wash Day Routine! 

**This is my personal wash day routine. It took me a month or so to figure out what routine and products worked best for my hair.**

Step 1: Mix Suave Tropical Coconut Conditioner, melted 100% Pure Coconut Oil and Water in a spray bottle. Shake well. Drench hair in this mixture. If hair is tangled, let it sit for a few minutes. Part into sections and detangle each section with a wide tooth comb and/or denman brush. Twist up the hair when it is detangled. Repeat this step until all of your hair is detangled.

Step 1 (if I was shampooing): Mix Suave Tropical Coconut Conditioner, melted 100% Pure Coconut Oil and Water in a spray bottle. Shake well. Drench hair in this mixture. If hair is tangled, let it sit for a few minutes. Part into sections and detangle each section with a wide tooth comb and/or denman brush. Twist up the hair when it is detangled. Repeat this step until all of your hair is detangled. Rinse your hair and add as much shampoo (Organix Biotin Shampoo) as necessary to cover your hair. As you lather the shampoo into your hair, make sure to detangle with your wide tooth comb as you go. Get the shampoo across every strand of hair, and on your scalp to make sure that it removes all product buildup. 

Step 2: Rinse your hair section by section making sure that your hair remains detangled. I normally mix half pure melted coconut oil with half pure olive oil and massage the mixture into my hair. (The mixture can be heated up and used as a hot oil treatment.) Put a shower cap on and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. Rinse it out. (I also mix this oil mixture with my conditioner and let it sit 5-10 minutes to get rid of an extra step.)

products.png

Step 3: Rinse the oil mixture out and wash with conditioner (Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner..one of many conditioners I use). Again, make sure to get the conditioner on every strand of hair and comb through with your wide tooth comb. Rinse.

Step 4: Apply your hair with the deep treatment masque (Shea Moisture Mongongo & Hemp Seed Oil High Porosity Moisture-Seal Masque) of your choice and cover with a shower cap. I normally let my masque stay on for anywhere between 20 minutes and 1 day lol. Rinse.

Step 5: Divide hair into sections (section sizes determine how big or small your manipulated curl will be). Apply a leave-in conditioner (Cantu Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream) from root to tip and comb through. Apply a butter or oil (DIY shea butter mixture or Jamaican Black Castor Oil) from root to tip and comb through. Twist the hair all the way to the end. I normally add a little bit more butter or oil to my ends to ensure that I have sealed them well enough.

Step 6: Before untwisting your hair, put a dime sized amount of oil (Matrix Biolage Smooth Therapie Smoothing Serum) in your hand. Rub the oil on each twist.This will help with possible frizz. Untwist your hair in the opposite direction of how you twisted it. Pick out your roots and separate the twists to cover parts and make your hair look fuller. Use an edge control to mold down edges.

**Make sure that your hair is fully dry before untwisting/unbraiding to achieve the desired style. **

Product Recommendation

Two days after wash day, my roots and ends began to frizz. I mixed Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La Defining Curl Custard with EcoStyler Olive Oil Gel and applied it to my roots and ends. This mixture was a NO! It caused a white residue to appear in my hair. I rinsed my hair and reapplied the Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La Defining Curl Custard. I paid extra attention to my roots and ends, as they have both been frizzy due to me running out of my DIY butter mixture and JBCO :(.

curl.jpg

After applying the curl custard, my hair was smooth, smelled good and had a nice shine. My roots and ends looks good right now, but we’ll see how they turn out tomorrow when I untwist my hair. I will say that I mixed this product with my Cantu Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream and put it all over my hair. These two products together left my hair feeling very light, moisturized  and the good kind of fluffy. It had body, my curls were elongated and it defined my curls soooooooo well!

Thus far, I’d recommend this product as a “revitalizer”, as in it brings moisture and shine to days old hair that has frizzed up. It also redefines your curls! Not to mention, it smells fruity and is has a water-based consistency. 

It also contains no sulfates, parabens, mineral oil, or petroleum and contains shea butter and olive oil. 

 

Hast Pronto!

#LaGorditaChronicles

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

